Why I stopped being religious … and why I don’t believe in religion

switch

I stopped being religious a couple of years ago,  and I can´t imagine myself ever again being part of any religious group. I already wrote a bit about it some time ago (On being a non religious scientist and believing in Christmas).   It is something that happened one day.   It was like a switch that was switched off. I don’t think it will ever be switched on again.

The events this week reminded me of why this happened to me.

A christian couple, who beat up one son to death and almost killed  the second one in a church with the help of other church members, so they would confess their sins.

A pregnant Palestinian and her child, who  died in Israeli air raid. Palestinian teenagers being killed by Israeli police. Palestinian teenagers and young men stabbing Israeli people.  A war that does have an end, where each part is as guilty as its counterpart.

Since the day my eyes opened up, several years ago,  I can’t take anymore all the silly excuses people use to protect their religion – from pedophile priests and corrupt churches, to people who brainwash children to blow themselves on saint wars, or to people who occupy countries, and deny the occupied people the right for water, electricity or medication. I can´t believe in religions who claim that they are superior to others, who use people to oppress and kill others, even their own children. Religions and religious groups are just like any other form of power, who use people for their intents, who manipulate them, even for evil things, with the promise of any form of eternal life!

Religion should not be like that.

Religion should bring the best out of people.

Religion should make the world a better place …

Pity that actually it makes the world a worse place …

Leave a Reply

